2022 Music PEI Awards – And The Winners Are…

Published On: March 6th, 2022Categories: News0 Comments

On Sunday, March 6th, the general public joined with the Island’s music community to celebrate the 2022 Music PEI Award nominees and winners of this year’s awards in an online live-streamed presentation.

In the face of challenges presented by high COVID-19 case numbers in the province, and the subsequent cancellation of all live events that were to happen this past week, Music PEI was relieved to still be able to focus on the achievements of the PEI’s artists and industry professionals. 

“Unfortunately COVID continues to impact our community and it was with great regret the Music PEI Board of Directors, faced with the challenges of COVID affecting our artists and staff, was forced to make the very disappointing decision to cancel the week-long concerts and celebrations of Music PEI Week” said Music PEI Executive Director Rob Oakie. “Fortunately, the decision was made to pre-tape the awards presentations which will still allow us to celebrate the nominees and winners of the annual Music PEI Awards.”  

The virtual Awards Party was hosted by Julie Pellissier-Lush and Tanya Davis, two incredible artists in their own right and each honoured with the title of Poet Laurate. Julie was named PEI’s Poet Laureate in 2018 and Tanya served as Halifax’s Poet Laureate from 2011-2013. 

The Awards Party also featured some entertainment from Craig Fair and Ben Aitken who played some tunes as their duo, Dueling Pianos. Ben Aitken took home the Holland College Musician of the Year award, which honours the accomplishments of those who lend their talents as side musicians to other artists both in the studio and on stage. 

Some award highlights were Nathan Wiley taking home both Buchanan Technologies Album of the Year and the SOCAN Songwriter of the Year awards; Sarah Hagen was also presented with two awards for The Buzz Album Art of the Year and the Hearts & Flowers Instrumental Recording of the Year. New on the scene this year is Noah Malcolm who also earned two awards, Digital Achievement of the Year and the Maritime Electric Lloyd Doyle New Artist of the Year award which recognizes an up-and-coming artist who has not previously been nominated for any Music PEI Awards – this award also comes with a prize of $1,000.

Music PEI wants to congratulate once again, all of the nominees, winners, and all artists and industry professionals who are making contributions to PEI’s thriving, world-class music scene.

The following is the full list of 2022 Music PEI Award winners:
– Buchanan Technologies Album of the Year: Nathan Wiley – Modern Magic
– The Buzz Album Art of the Year: Sarah Hagen – JS Bach: Goldberg Variations (Graphic Designer: Ben Didier & Artwork: Sarah Hagen)
– Digital Achievement of the Year: Noah Malcolm
– City of Charlottetown Group Recording of the Year: Rick Sparkes + The Enablers – Pleasure in the Pathless Woods
– Hearts and Flowers Instrumental Recording of the Year: Sarah Hagen – JS Bach: Goldberg Variations
– Livestream of the Year: Indian River Festival
– Holland College Musician of the Year: Ben Aitken
– Maritime Electric Lloyd Doyle New Artist of the Year: Noah Malcolm – On Time
– CYMBA Music Publishing Producer of the Year: Jon Matthews
– Recording Studio of the Year: The Sound Mill
– SOCAN Songwriter of the Year: Nathan Wiley
– Upstreet Libra Solo Recording of the Year: Alicia Toner – Joan
– Arsenault Best Cameron Ellis Song of the Year: Dylan Menzie – A Heart That Doesn’t Want Mine
– FilmPEI Video of the Year: Dennis Ellsworth – Bound by Love (Directed by Aidan Searle)
– Caledonia House Contemporary Roots Recording of the Year: Shane Pendergast – Second Wind
– Olde Dublin Pub Traditional Roots Recording of the Year: Gordie MacKeeman – Folk for Little Folk Volume 1
– Electronic Recording of the Year: KINLEY – Run with You [Lee Rosevere Remix]
– Most Wanted Pawn Rock Recording of the Year: Arsenal Mills – Lovesick & Broke
– Downtown Charlottetown Inc. R&B/Soul Recording of the Year: Logan Richard – Logan Richard (Self-Titled)
– Academy of Swimming Excellence Rap Recording of the Year: Vince The Messenger – Trustfall
– FACTOR Entertainer of the Year: Joce Reyome
– Community Contributor of the Year: Kinley Dowling
– Long & McQuade Educator of the Year: James MacHattie
– Sarah Roach Lewis Industry Person of the Year: Darcy Campbell
– Key Murray Law Lifetime Achievement Award: Reg Ballagh
– Live Music Production Professional of the Year: Chris Knox
– Cavendish Farms Rooted to the Island: Christina Bouey

Music PEI would also like to extend our gratitude and thanks to FACTOR through the Government of Canada and Canada’s private radio broadcasters, the Province of Prince Edward Island, Innovation PEI, the Atlantic Canada Opportunities Agency (ACOA), Skills PEI, and a host of tremendous sponsors. We could not do what we do without this tremendous support. 

Music PEI is the music industry association for the province of Prince Edward Island and our mandate is to assist PEI artists and industry professionals to develop sustainable careers.

Music PEI
TD Group Diverse Voices submission extended to February 25thCalling All Young Black-IPOC/ 2SLGBTQIA+ Creatives - Music PEI and FilmPEI Announce Support from TD Bank Group for the Diverse Voices Program
Join Our Team: We Are Hiring Now!Summer Employment Opportunity with Music PEI

Leave A Comment

Join Our Mailing List