AboutMusic PEI WeekShowcase PEICanadian Song ConferenceJoinMembers LoungeNews & EventsMusic PEI Programs
Canadian Song Conference
2020 Canadian Songwriter Challenge

2020 Canadian Songwriter Challenge Songs

The Canadian Songwriter Challenge is an integral part of the Canadian Song Conference and was held from May 20th to May 26th. It gives songwriters from partnering provincial music industry associations (MIA’s) the opportunity to collaborate with PEI artists by co-writing and recording brand new music. This year, these collaborations all happened online, respecting current health and safety restrictions.

Artists used virtual platforms to write, communicate, and record from their respective homes. This year, each pair of artists was paired with a producer. Confirmed producers are Gavin Brown, Hill Kourkoutis, Jason Barry, Daniel Ledwell, Erin Costello, Colin Buchanan, and Dajaun.

After co-writing and recording, artists presented their songs to participating CSC delegates (music supervisors, publishers, labels, broadcasters and more) in online listening sessions.

This year, 14 songwriters from across Canada participated in the Songwriter Challenge. The selected artists were:

Province MIA Artist PEI Artist Producers
NB Hilary Ladd Nikkie Gallant Erin Costello
ON James Wilson Mat Hannah Colin Buchanan
SK Valerie Raye Karen Penton Gavin Brown
MB Keri Latimer Dylan Menzie Jason Barry
AB Peter Stone Brielle Ansems Daniel Ledwell
BC Desiree Dawson Vince the Messenger Dajaun Martineau
YT Sophie Noel Logan Richard Hill Kourkoutis

Previous Collaborations

Catalogues of past Canadian Songwriter Challenge collaborations are available:

2019 Canadian Songwriter Challenge on Soundcloud
Brittany McQuinn (PEI) & Madison Olds (BC)
Rachel Beck (PEI) & Tessa Gooden (Ontario)
Logan Richard (PEI) & Nuella Charles (Alberta)
Teresa Doyle (PEI) & Greyson Gritt (MFM-NO)
Dave Sampson (NS) & Sierra Noble (MB)
Mike Harmel (SK) & Chris Ryan (NFLD)

2018 Canadian Songwriter Challenge on Soundcloud
Josh Carter (PEI) & Shaun LB (NB)
Catherine MacLellan (PEI) & Reeny Smith (NS)
Russell Louder (PEI) & Steph Copeland (ON)
Amanda Jackson Band (PEI) & Alexandria Maillot (BC)
Alicia Toner (PEI) & Sean Panting (NL)
Danny Drouin (PEI) & Shantaia (SK)

2017 Canadian Songwriter Challenge on Soundcloud
Meaghan Blanchard (PEI) & Gabrielle Papillon (NS)
Andrew Waite (PEI) & Ross Neilsen (SK)
Rachel Beck (PEI) & Jordan Alexander (ON)
Dennis Ellsworth (PEI) & Tyler Gilbert (SK)

2016 Canadian Songwriter Challenge on Soundcloud
KINLEY (PEI) & Carleton Stone (NS)
Dennis Ellsworth (PEI) & Andy Brown (NB)
Tim Chaisson (PEI) & Brianna Gosse (NL)
Dylan Menzie (PEI) & Kashka (ON)

2015 Canadian Songwriter Challenge on Soundcloud
Coyote (PEI) & Dan Mangan (BC)
Meaghan Blanchard (PEI) & Tim Hus (AB)
Tim Chaisson (PEI) & Jay Semko (SK)
Ashley Condon (PEI) & The Small Glories (MB)
Dennis Ellsworth (PEI) & Donovan Woods (ON)


» Canadian Songwriter Challenge Guidelines