Canadian Songwriter Challenge

The Canadian Songwriter Challenge is in its 8th year. The goal of Music PEI’s version is to bring artists together from across Canada to co-write with PEI artists. Nine provincial music industry associations partnered with Music PEI in 2022 to create 6 teams of songwriters. Each pair is assisted by a producer.

The pairs of artists are tasked with writing and recording 2 songs each with their producer. All writing and recording in 2022 will be completed online. Once the songs are completed, they are presented to the delegates in online Listening Sessions. Songs produced through this program have been used by the delegates with some being used or re-recorded for the artists own albums.

Thanks to the music industry associations who partnered with us this year for the Canadian Songwriter Challenge: Music/Musique NB, Music Ontario, Manitoba Music, SaskMusic, Alberta Music, Music BC, Music NL, Music Nova Scotia and Music Yukon.

Canadian Songwriter Challenge logo on red maple leaves

2022 Participants

NB Catherine Kennedy Justyn Thyme Breagh Isabel
YT Brigitte Jardin Lawrence Maxwell Gavin Brown
NT Janaya McCallum KINLEY Maia Davies
MB Sam Sarty Brandon Howard Roy Greg Alsop
NL Valmy Sweet Vermouth Steph Copeland
NS Nicole Ariana Kierrah Colin Buchanan

Listen to the 2021 Playlist

Visit Playlist Page

Previous Collaborations

  • Andrew Waite (PEI) (PEI) & Koovy (YT)
  • KINLEY (PEI) (PEI) & Oleyada (ON)
  • Vince the Messenger (PEI) (PEI) & Chudi Harris (NS)
  • Brielle Ansems (PEI) (PEI) & Sebastian Gaskin (NB)
  • Nikkie Gallant (PEI) (PEI) & Kylie Fox (NB)
  • Brandon Howard Roy (PEI) (PEI) & Bukola (BC)
  • Irish Mythen (PEI) (PEI) & D’orjay (AB)
  • Joce Reyome (PEI) (PEI) & Kasia Leigh (SK)
  • Noah Malcom (PEI) (PEI) & Kellie Loder (NL)
  • Nikkie Gallant (PEI) & Hilary Ladd (NB)
  • Mat Hannah (PEI) & James Wilson (ON)
  • Karen Penton (PEI) & Valerie Raye (SK)
  • Dylan Menzie (PEI) & Keri Latimer (MB)
  • Brielle Ansems (PEI) & Peter Stone (AB)
  • Vince the Messenger (PEI) & Desiree Dawson (BC)
  • Logan Richard (PEI) & Sophie Noel (YT)
  • Brittany McQuinn (PEI) & Madison Olds (BC)
  • Rachel Beck (PEI) & Tessa Gooden (ON)
  • Logan Richard (PEI) & Nuella Charles (AB)
  • Teresa Doyle (PEI) & Greyson Gritt (MFM-NO)
  • Dave Sampson (NS) & Sierra Noble (MB)
  • Mike Harmel (SK) & Chris Ryan (NL)
  • Josh Carter (PEI) & Shaun LB (NB)
  • Catherine MacLellan (PEI) & Reeny Smith (NS)
  • Russell Louder (PEI) & Steph Copeland (ON)
  • Amanda Jackson Band (PEI) & Alexandria Maillot (BC)
  • Alicia Toner (PEI) & Sean Panting (NL)
  • Danny Drouin (PEI) & Shantaia (SK)
  • Meaghan Blanchard (PEI) & Gabrielle Papillon (NS)
  • Andrew Waite (PEI) & Ross Neilsen (SK)
  • Rachel Beck (PEI) & Jordan Alexander (ON)
  • Dennis Ellsworth (PEI) & Tyler Gilbert (SK)
  • KINLEY (PEI) & Carleton Stone (NS)
  • Dennis Ellsworth (PEI) & Andy Brown (NB)
  • Tim Chaisson (PEI) & Brianna Gosse (NL)
  • Dylan Menzie (PEI) & Kashka (ON)
  • Coyote (PEI) & Dan Mangan (BC)
  • Meaghan Blanchard (PEI) & Tim Hus (AB)
  • Tim Chaisson (PEI) & Jay Semko (SK)
  • Ashley Condon (PEI) & The Small Glories (MB)
  • Dennis Ellsworth (PEI) & Donovan Woods (ON)