Award Winners!

Published On: January 20th, 2011Categories: News0 Comments

The 2011 Music PEI Award goes to…

Award Presented at the Art for Music Gallery Show
Friday, January 14th 2011
Music PEI Week 2011 kicked off with a bang on Friday at the Art for Music Show. at the Guild, with the presentation of the Visual Artist of the Year award. The gallery is open all week; go check out your amazing Island artists photographing your amazing East Coast talent.
Visual Artist of the Year – Mike MacDougall, sixeyedcat

Awards Presented at Music Mosaic Concert
Thursday, January 20th, 2011

Music PEI Week returned to Summerside for the first time since 2007 Wednesday night. Music Mosaic took over Le Centre Belle-Alliance and featured performances by pop-rock group Paper Lions, Acadien singer-songwriter Fayo, folk newcomer Katie McGarry and Celtic sisters Cosán along with a number of award presentations. The concert was produced in partnership with Le Centre Belle-Alliance and Fédération Culturelle de l’IPÉ.

In total 11 awards were handed out.
Roots/Traditional Group Recording of the Year: Gordie MacKeeman & His Rhythm Boys – self titled
Jazz Recording of the Year: Glen Strickey – Roots for Rudy
Urban Recording of the Year: Eric Broadbent & DJ Ghost – Eric Broadbent & DJ Ghost #2
Venue of the Year: Hunter’s Ale House
Recording Studio & Technician of the Year: Adam Gallant
Country/Alternative Country Recording of the Year: Haunted Hearts – Howdy
Musician of the Year: Todd MacLean
Blues Recording of the Year: Scott Parsons – Live at Mahogany Hall
Instrumental Recording of the Year: Gordie MacKeeman & His Rhythm Boys – self titled
Event of the Year – Festival of Small Halls
Industry Person of the Year – Gardiner MacNeil

Thursday night, Harmony House in Hunter River will play host to the S.A.C Bluebird North Songwriter’s Concert featuring performances by the 2011 Music PEI Songwriter of the Year nominees: Dennis Ellsworth, Devin Casario, John Connolly, Jeremy Gaudet (Boxer the Horse), Meaghan Blanchard and special guest 2010 Music PEI songwriter of the year Catherine MacLellan. A number of awards will be handed out throughout the night. This show is hosted by Dean McTaggart who has written songs for Amanda Marshall, Wynonna Judd and Anne Murray to name only a few, and is sold out.

Keep checking back for up to date information on who’s picking up the hardware this year!

Music PEI
Gala Performers for 10th Annual Music PEI Awards Gala Announced
Recap of the 10th Annual Music PEI Awards Gala

Leave A Comment

Join Our Mailing List