Nominees Announced for 2010 Music PEI Awards

Published On: December 9th, 2009Categories: News0 Comments

Music PEI Announces Nominees for 2010 Music PEI Awards

Charlottetown, PE) –Tim Chaisson & Morning Fold leads the pack of nominees for the 2010 Music PEI Awards with 5 nominations. Artist and Industry award nominations were announced today in Charlottetown, PE at the Atlantic Technology Centre.

According to Music PEI Executive Director Rob Oakie, “The nominees this year highlight some of the best the Island has to offer. Music PEI Week will be an exciting event as we recognize some of the achievements of the past year. Music PEI is proud to have the opportunity through support from the Province to assist these artists in building fulltime careers in the music industry.”

A number of Island artists received multiple nominations this year including Tim Chaisson & Morning Fold (5), Catherine MacLellan (4), Grass Mountain Hobos (4), Two Hours Traffic (4), Chas Guay (3), Haunted Hearts (3), Janet MacEwen (3), Joey Kitson (3), Racoon Bandit (3), The Sidewalks (3) and Teresa Doyle (3). A total of twenty-five (25) awards will be handed out during the 2010 Music PEI Week.

Oakie continued, “Prince Edward Island members of the music industry have made significant gains in recent years. A recent example of success is in the ECMA nominations. Twenty-one nominations for PEI artists represents over 11% of the nominees when we only represent 6% of the population.” He went on to say, “2009 also represented national award wins, multiple national and international tours and tremendous growth in regional recognition. Our artists continue to improve in their professional approach to the business of music.”

Now in its 9th year, PEI Music Week and Conference has grown from one day to an event that brings together the music industry and the public for four jam-packed days of showcases, workshops, and the Gala Awards Show. This year, the festival and conference will be held in Charlottetown, PE from January 20 – 23, 2010.

Below is a full list of awards nominations.

2010 Music PEI Awards Nominees

Songwriter of the Year
Catherine MacLellan – “Take a Break”
Haunted Hearts – “Haunted Hearts”
Teresa Doyle – “You’re My Cup of Tea”
Tim Chaisson – “Lay Low”
Two Hours Traffic – “Noisemaker”

New Artist of the Year
Disco Rockin’ Llamas
Haunted Hearts
Jace Patkai
Janet MacEwen
Milks & Rectangles
Racoon Bandit
The Sidewalks

Male Vocalist of the Year
Paul Broadbent
Chas Guay
Jeff Morris
Joey Kitson
Jordan Cameron

Female Vocalist of the Year
Catherine MacLellan
Erin Evans
Janet MacEwen
Teresa Doyle

Group of the Year
Grass Mountain Hobos
Racoon Bandit
The Sidewalks
Tim Chaisson & Morning Fold
Two Hours Traffic

Album of the Year
Catherine MacLellan – Water in the Ground
Chas Guay – Little City
Grass Mountain Hobos – Zoot!
Tim Chaisson & Morning Fold – Broken Hearted Beat
Two Hours Traffic – Territory

Entertainer of The Year
Grass Mountain Hobos
Tim Chaisson & Morning Fold
Smothered in Hugs
Joey Kitson
Richard Wood

Francophone Recording of the Year
Mario Robichaud – Qui es-tu?
Rebels – Rebels
Stephane Bouchard – L’Opus du Petit Prince
Vishten – Vishten Live

Alternative Recording of the Year
Disco Rockin’ Llamas – Disco Rockin’ Llamas
Haunted Hearts – Thank you, Goodnight
Racoon Bandit – Campcraft
The Danks – Are You Afraid of The Danks?
The Sidewalks – Better Late Than Never

Bluegrass/Country Recording of the Year
Glencoe Road – Deep Little Tale
Grass Mountain Hobos – Zoot!
Johnny Oliver – I’m Not Up For Sale
Slung – Superfecta

Folk Recording of the Year
Compilation – Believing in Anne
Catherine MacLellan – Water in the Ground
Colette Cheverie – Hours Before Dawn
Joey Kitson – Stan

Jazz Recording of the Year
Janet MacEwen – Back Where I Belong
Stephane Bouchard – L’Opus du Petit Prince
Teresa Doyle – Late Night Parlour

Pop Recording of the Year
Chas Guay – Little City
Jeff Morris – Far Away
Milks & Rectangles – Civic Virtues
Tim Chaisson & Morning Fold – Broken Hearted Beat
Two Hours Traffic – Territory

Rock Recording of the Year
Dysfunktional Dads – ya gotta love it!
Fugato – Fugato
Loud Machine – Spanner
Smothered in Hugs – Healing Power of Injury

Roots Traditional Solo, Duo or Group Recording of the Year
Courtney Hogan – Firefly
Lazy Jacks – East Coast Live
Rebels – Rebels
Scott MacAulay – Great Scott!

Urban Recording of the Year
Billy Dee Starski- Starved, Homeless And Broke
DJ Thundacat- Look, No Hands
Jakt & Jeff Math- Mules
The Dogs Will Hunt- Ship To China
Tyler Carmody & DJ Ghost- Tyler Carmody & DJ Ghost

Educator of the Year
Aaron Crane
Moe Hashie
Peter Robinson
Todd MacLean

Event of the Year
Bootlegger’s Ball
East Coast Affair
Indian River Music Festival

Musician of the Year
Chris Gauthier
Jon Matthews
Remi Arsenault
Rich Knox
Tian Wigmore

Studio of the Year
Big Grey Sound Studio
Guernsey Cover Parlour Productions
Lukas Raine

Venue of the Year
Harmony House
Hunter’s Ale House
St. Mary’s Church
The Guild

Visual Artist of the Year
Chris Wilkinson
Ryan Hutchinson
Six Eyed Cat
Tony Dawe

Fan’s Choice – Weekend Warrior of the Year
Kickin’ Country
Lazy Jacks
Muddy Buddy

Multiple Nominee Breakdown

5 Tim Chaisson & Morning Fold
4 Catherine MacLellan
4 Grass Mountain Hobos
4 Two Hours Traffic
3 Haunted Hearts
3 The Sidewalks
3 Teresa Doyle
3 Racoon Bandit
3 Joey Kitson
3 Janet MacEwen
3 Chas Guay
2 Disco Rockin’ Llamas
2 Smothered in Hugs
2 Rebels
2 Lazy Jacks
2 Jeff Morris
2 Milks & Rectangles
2 Stephane Bouchard

Music PEI
2010 Music PEI Gala Tickets Now on Sale
Voting Now Underway for 2010 Music PEI Awards

Leave A Comment

Join Our Mailing List