Music PEI Announces 2007 Nominees

Published On: October 16th, 2007Categories: News0 Comments

After submissions from the best and the brightest that the Island has to offer, and a lengthy deliberation by a jury of their peers, Music P.E.I. is ready to announce the nominees for the 2007 Awards. In order for a category to be activated a minimum of 3 submissions must be received. This year there will be a total of 17 categories in which to cast your votes including the return of the Urban Recording Category for the 2nd year in a row
Online polls will soon be open and voting will begin for this year?s nominees for the 7th annual Music P.E.I. awards. The online voting polls will remain open until October 31st at midnight. This year marks the return of past nominees and winners like Chucky Danger, Janet McGarry and Lazy Jacks as well as a number of brand new to Music P.E.I nominees like Rose Cousins, Jenn Grant and Battery Point.
Nominees for the 2007 Music PEI Awards are:
Album of the Year: The City Destroyed Me ? Nathan Wiley, If You Were for Me ? Rose Cousins, Chucky Danger ? Chucky Danger, Orchestra for the Moon ? Jenn Grant, 11:11 ? Vishten, Make a List ? Tanya Davis
Female Vocalist: Jenn Grant, Rose Cousins, Janet McGarry, Tanya Davis, Jolee Patkai
Group: Chucky Danger, Two Hours Traffic, Vishten, Fugato, Fiddler?s Sons
Male Vocalist: Nathan Wiley, Jon Matthews, Tim Chaisson, Battery Point, Gordon Belsher
Songwriter: Nathan Wiley ?The City Destroyed Me?, Rose Cousins ?Dance if You Want?, Tim Chaisson ?Wasn?t For You?, Jon Matthews ?Bridge?, Eddy Quinn ?Shoulder of the Road?
Instrumental Recording: Cynthia MacLeod, Glen MacEachern and Field Trip
New Artist: Jenn Grant, Saddle River String Band, Tanya Davis, Battery Point, Saxafras
Recording Studio/Production Company: Big Grey Sound Studio, David Rashed Audio Production, Guernsey Cove Parlour Prods, Hog For Ya Productions
Alternative Rock: Stride, Andrew Murray, Nathan Wiley, Two Hours Traffic
Bluegrass: Saddle River String Band, Janet McGarry and Bluegrass Angel Band
Country: Jolee Patkai, Glen MacEachern, Fiddler?s Sons and Garnet Buell
Folk: Lazy Jack, Saxafras, Battery Point, Tanya Davis and Rose Cousins
Jazz & Blues: Field Trip, Heather Doiron, The Blueprints
Pop: Jon Matthews, Timothy Chaisson and Richard K. Ball
Rock: Chucky Danger, Fugato and The Loud Americans
Roots: Cynthia MacLeod, Gordon Belsher, The Ross Family and Vishten
Urban: Eric Broadbent, Dead Airwaves and Practical Academics
There are 2 awards that will be open to the public for voting. Those awards are Entertainer of the Year and Weekend Warrior.
And the nominees are?
Weekend Warrior: Tim Chaisson, Garnet Buell, Stride, Edge, Muddy Buddy
Entertainer of the Year: Lazy Jacks, Tim Chaisson, Muddy Buddy, The Ross Family, Chucky Danger, Edge, Garnet Buell, Kendra MacGillivray & Bruce Rainnie, Elephant Rock, Nathan Wiley, Fiddler?s Sons
These two awards are also the only two that do no require a current recording release in order to be considered. Voting will take place, in cooperation with title sponsors K-Rock 105.5 and Ocean 100, via their websites and Who is your favorite? Don?t forget to vote.

All of the awards will be handed out on November 10th at The Confederation Centre of the Arts when Kerri Wynne MacLeod takes to the main stage as host of the 2007 Ocean 100/K-Rock 105.5 Music PEI Music Awards Gala.

Music PEI
Music PEI EXTENDS Submission Deadline
Online Voting Polls Are Open!!

Leave A Comment

Join Our Mailing List