AboutMusic PEI WeekShowcase PEICanadian Song ConferenceJoinMembers LoungeNews & EventsMusic PEI Programs
Member Profile
Haywire formed in Charlottetown, PEI in 1982 by Dave Rashed, Paul MacAusland, Marvin Birt, Scott Roberts and Ronnie Switzer. While all the members of the band have been solid from the start, drummer Sean Kilbride was actually the fourth drummer in the group's short history. Ron "Bumble" LeBlanc had replaced the original Haywire drummer Scott Roberts in 1984. He remained with the band through their demo stages, EP, and can be heard playing on two cuts of the bands first record with Attic. LeBlanc was replaced by Mac Cole when he decided to move on from the group and pursue a formal education. Cole only played two months with the band when Haywire's long-time friend Kilbride became available for the job. In the summer of 1986 the group jumped quickly and signed up Kilbride and successfully pursued a record contract with Attic.
Their first full-length album, Bad Boys, went platinum in Canada, while the title track became a top-40 hit. The following year, they released Don't Just Stand There, which also went platinum and contained their biggest ever hit, the hard-driving "Dance Desire". Throughout the late 80's, Haywire toured with other popular Canadian rockers such as Helix, Honeymoon Suite and Kim Mitchell. They also represented Canada in the World Popular Song Festival in Japan, where "Dance Desire" won the award for best song. Despite their success in Canada, and interest stateside from Doc McGee (Management for Bon Jovi, Mötley Crüe, Skid Row, etc.), Q-Prime (management for Metallica, Shania Twain, Red Hot Chili Peppers, etc.) & Chrysalis Records (to name one prominent record company), they were unable to secure a US record deal; rumoured due to totally unrealistic demands from Attic.
The follow-up album, Nuthouse, was recorded in Norway with Bjorn Nessjo at the production helm; one of Europe's most sought-after producers at the time. Unsatisfied with the results, Haywire fired Nessjo, remixed the album themselves and released it in 1990. It was guitar-driven, had a much harder edge and was considered to be the style of music the band wanted to pursue, rather than the pop pap their record label thought was necessary. Though it went gold (eventually hitting platinum sales), it didn't generate as much interest as their previous albums (and received the least amount of support from the record label). They produced one more album, 1992's Get Off, which was critically well-received, but still didn't fuel the support from the record company (financial and otherwise) that they needed. After contractual struggles, the group refused to re-sign with their label Attic. To fulfil their contractual obligations with Haywire, Attic released a greatest hits CD in 1993 entitled Wired - Best of without any input from the band (even with offered input including rare & unreleased material). The band eventually stoped touring in the mid-1990s.
Continual radio play in Canada has brought the band together in recent years for smaller scale tours. The band has recently had their albums re-issued on CD through Unidisc Music Inc.. In November 2006, Haywire were awarded the Music Prince Edward Island Lifetime Achievement Award


Paul MacAusland - Vocals
Dave Rashed - Keyboards, backing vocals
Marvin Birt - Guitars, backing vocals
Ronnie Switzer - Bass
Sean Kilbride - Drums


Haywire - 1985
Bad Boys - 1986
Don't Just Stand There - 1987
Nuthouse - 1990
Get Off - 1992
Wired - Best of - 1993


"Bad Bad Boy" (1986) #40 CAN
"Standin' in Line" (1986)
"Shot in the Dark" (1986 - no video)
"Dance Desire" (1987) #21 CAN
"Black and Blue" (1987)
"Fire" (1988)
"Thinkin' About the Years" (1988 - no video) #38 CAN
"Operator Central" (1989)
"Short End of a Wishbone" (1990)
"Taken the Pain" (1991 - no video)
"Get Back" (1992)
"Wanna Be the One" (1992)
"Buzz" (1992 - no video)